Self harm help

Some of you may know, I am writing a fictional, self-help book. The book is about a girls journey through therapy, dealing with different issues.She is given ways to help with different mental health issues.Chapter 2 is mainly help for self harm. I sent the draft to my friend B and she said I needed to share this contract.

In my book, the girl and her therapist work on a contract which is to be followed when she feels the need to harm herself, or if she feels suicidal.

I, [Name] will promise to follow the following contract when I feel like cutting myself. This contract is between myself and [The therapist in my book. Can do it yourself or between a friend ect].
If I feel like cutting, I will write down what has made me feel this bad and mark, out of 5, how bad the feeling is (0 being I feel good – 5 being I am feeling extremely down). I will then see if I can change my thoughts on the situation.
If I can’t change my thoughts, or am still feeling bad, I will read a book for 30 minutes. I will then score my mood again. My aim is to score 2 or under.
If my score is still too high, or hasn’t improved I will then play and sing along to my favourite music for 30 minutes. I will also dance if I want to. I will then score my mood again.
If my score is still to high, I will ring or text [Friend or family member] and ask her to listen to me whilst I tell her my problems. I will then ask her for her opinions. If I can’t speak to [Friend] in that moment, I will contact the Samaritans on 08457 909090. I will do this for at least 30 minutes.
If I am still feeling bad, I will sit with my family/ make sure I am not alone to keep myself safe for at least 45 minutes.
If I am still feeling bad, I will contact [Therapist] and explain the situation.
If I end up cutting, I will make sure I use a clean blade and clean the cuts after. If the bleeding doesn’t stop or the cuts are deep, I will let someone know and call 999.

So, this is the first ‘self help’ part of my book. Feel free to use this contract to help yourself, and change accordingly to suit your needs/enjoyable activities.

Posted from WordPress for Windows Phone

Leave a Reply

