Book Review: The Hunger Games, Catching Fire

Well, I decided I am gonna do book reviews on my blog, as well as keep you updated on my life. I could go back through the books I’ve read recently, but quite frankly I can’t be bothered to go back and say what I thought of all of those books. So, I shall start with the one I’ve just finished: Catching Fire. 

Catching fire is the second book in The Hunger Games Trilogy and it really does exceed your expectations. I watched the first film when it came out, but had never read the books. When the second film came out, I decided to read the books before watching. Well, the second film came out last year, and due to my depression, I couldn’t just sit down and read. It got to Feb 2014, and I borrowed the first 2 books from my friend (She can’t find the third) and I began reading. The first book was how I remember the film, and because I had watched the film, I had some preconceived ideas about the story-line. This didn’t happen when reading Catching Fire. I hadn’t watched the film and so the only preconceived things in my mind were how the characters looked.

I started reading it just after the first book, and so knew the history behind what had happened, and it is the sequel so you’re supposed to read them in order. However, if you didn’t then I’m not sure the second would make much sense, unless you had seen the first film. The story is well written and I feel like you are with Katniss throughout the story. I felt her emotions, and felt somewhat connected to her. I felt stunned when she was made to go back into the arena. I did expect it though, I mean I caught on that President Snow disliked her, and they wanted revenge for what happened in the first book. So I kind of assumed something would happen. But I was shocked at the storyline in the last chapter. I really don’t want to give much away, but it also sets up the last book, Mockingjay, so well. I’m expecting the last book so be a story of the uprising. Although, the Katniss, Peeta and Gale love triangle, is still leaving me second-guessing. Is Peeta alive somewhere, if he is, does she choose him or Gale? Is Peeta dead? 

So many things that I can’t wait to find out from the third book!!

 

Catching Fire: 4/5

Leave a Reply

