Bleeding

I’m bleeding again,
I gave up,
This is how I feel my pain.

I get my friend,
Mr Razor Blade,
I cut from start to end.

The blood, it pours,
I look down and smile,
It for a good cause.

I want to die,
But it wasn’t my aim
To say good bye.

I just want to feel,
I needed to cry,
Is this even real?

Drip, drip, drop,
I’m still bleeding,
The blood just won’t stop.

Isn’t blood a pretty red
The shade is so nice,
But it’s staining on my bed.

It’s time to go to sleep now,
I’ll wake up in a daze.
But first I’ll make a vow.

I’ll try harder next time,
To not destroy my arm,
I’ll conquer this climb.

A poem by Jade Wood

2 thoughts on “Bleeding

  1. The poem is haunting and pretty and the rhythm of it certainly keeps on focused. It almost sound like breathing to me. I feel a little guilty complimenting this though. It’s almost like saying “it was a really pretty plane crash.” I don’t know what to say.

    My wife used to self harm. It was a thing she turned to when things got too hard or she felt like she needed “release.” Not so long ago, I attempted to self-harm too. I didn’t know that that was what I was doing. It was almost like I was playing with the idea until I did it. I guess it wasn’t self-harm really because I did want to die.

    I guess what I want to say is, keep fighting and keep trying to climb. Every day that you get out of bed is a day that you won. Every time you want to hurt yourself but resist is a victory. If you are fighting, then you are winning.

    If you can, do things. Volunteer, get a job, write as much as you can, take up a sport, etc. If your hands are busy, sometimes it helps to shut the mind up. I believe in you.

Leave a Reply

