The Casual Vacancy

At the moment, I am slowly reading J.K Rowling’s The Casual Vavancy. I say slowly, because I’m a slow reader and I tend to only read when I’m feeling low, and/or just before bed; and I only really read 1 or 2 chapters at a time.

It’s a strange book. I can’t seem to understand it. Each chapter is from the view of a different character, and to me it is quite confusing. However, it is that confusion that has got me hooked onto the book. I keep reading, hoping to get to the part that I understand. It is quite a good book, despite my confusion.

So far, I give it a rating of 3/5.

3 thoughts on “The Casual Vacancy

  1. I’m reading this one too! Alongside two others, and I found the Casual Vacancy is actually a pretty difficult read. For one, it’s hard to read a lot in one sitting (unlike Harry Potter!), and second, I guess it comes with bias but there are really high expectations for the book. Unfortunately for me, I would only give it a 2/5. I’m more more than a quarter in the book and still waiting for something to grasp. It’s interesting but not interesting enough for me to throw aside the two other books and read J.K. Rowling first…

Leave a Reply

